RHANI Wives

Women Can Prevent HIV and Violence in Marriage - Learning Lab, 9 June 2015

15 May 2015
Michelle Moore

Join us for a free webinar on Tuesday 9 June May 2015, 4pm BST

Women Can Prevent HIV and Violence in Marriage! Findings from the RHANI Wives Study

National efforts to prevent HIV in India have historically been directed toward men and female sex workers, with an expectation that wives would benefit from the trickle-down effect of this approach. However, women’s advocates are calling for more programming to support wives directly, with the goal of building their autonomy to protect themselves in the context of their marriage.

This webinar discusses the Raising HIV Awareness among Non-Infected Indian Wives (RHANI) intervention. This two-armed randomised controlled trial was developed to meet this gap in the field. RHANI focused on women at risk for HIV in Mumbai, a city facing disproportionate burden of the HIV epidemic. Findings suggest that RHANI wives can support women’s capacities to protect themselves from sexual risk and violence in their marital relationships.

Dr Anita Raj is a Professor of Medicine and Global Public Health, as well as the Founding Director of the Center on Gender Equity at the University of California, San Diego. Her research areas include girl child marriage, gender-based violence, son preference and the sexual, reproductive, maternal and child health of socially vulnerable women and men, as well as girls and boys, in South Asia, the United States, sub-Saharan Africa and Russia.

Resources

** This Learning Lab is timed for Dr Raj to present from the west coast of the US. We apologise to our Asian and African colleagues for the timing. We hope that some of you may be able to connect from home or catch up on the presentation when we post it here. **

Time

11:00am Washington DC

4:00pm London

5:00pm Geneva

5:00pm Johannesburg

6:00pm Kampala/Mwanza

8:30pm New Delhi/Bangalore

To take part in this month’s Learning Lab, register here.

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Access code 9272774.

Other toll-free numbers are available here. See your confirmation email for the link. Alternatively, dial the US toll-free number from Skype: 866.740.1260.

Please send any other enquiries to Michelle [dot] Moore [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 5 June 2015.