Mitigating the effect of food insecurity on adherence to HIV treatment in Tanzania: Are conditional cash and food transfers effective strategies? Learning Lab, 20 October 2016

07 October 2016
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on 20 October 2016 at 4pm.

Food insecurity is an important barrier to retention in care and adherence to antiretroviral therapy (ART) among people living with HIV infection. However, there is a lack of rigorous evidence about how to improve food security and HIV-related clinical outcomes.  

This learning lab will present results of a study that evaluated whether short-term cash and food support can improve ART adherence among adults living with HIV infection in Tanzania.

Sandra McCoy MPH PhD is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Epidemiology at the University of California, Berkeley School of Public Health. Together with collaborators in sub-Saharan Africa, Mexico, and the United States, her research focuses on how social and economic factors influence disease transmission and sexual and reproductive health outcomes. Most of Dr. McCoy’s research projects culminate in the design and evaluation of new interventions intended to positively change health behavior, such as increasing adherence to antiretroviral therapy (ART) or encouraging people to engage in health screenings such as HIV testing. Through a diverse array of approaches, her goal is to identify innovative, cost-effective, and scalable interventions to overcome global health challenges.

Resources

A review of the role of food insecurity in adherence to care and treatment among adult and pediatric populations living with HIV and AIDS

Rationale and design of a randomized study of short-term food and cash assistance to improve adherence to antiretroviral therapy among food insecure HIV-infected adults in Tanzania

Time

11:00am Washington DC

4:00pm London

05:00pm Geneva

05:00pm Johannesburg

06:00pm Kampala/Mwanza

08:30pm New Delhi/Bangalore

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.

Please send enquiries to Michael [dot] Naranjo [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Tuesday 18 October 2016.