What do we (really) know about VAW and HIV risk?

29 November 2016
Sephy Valuks

Please join us for a free webinar on Tuesday 29 November 2016.

What is known about the epidemiological pathways linking violence against women and girls (VAWG) and HIV? And what are the implications for intervention? 

With support from WHO, UNICEF, UNAIDS and the Greentree Foundation, STRIVE convened a high-level meeting of experts from both the violence and HIV fields to:

  • examine the latest evidence on the ways in which VAWG affects HIV acquisition, testing, adherence and disease course
  • advance overall understanding of the links between HIV and VAWG
  • identify strategies to address this nexus
  • examine whether and how programming should change in light of emerging evidence 

Some of these findings may surprise you!

Lori Heise is one of the co-research directors of STRIVE and the director of the Gender, Violence and Health Centre (GVHC) at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM). She is known for her work on both HIV and violence against women. Dr Heise designed the Greentree II consultation and worked with Liz McGrory on the report that summarises the existing and new evidence presented there, and its implications.

Dr Heise will present this webinar at two different times on 29 November to enable participation across time zones.*

Resource

Greentree II: Violence against Women and Girls, and HIV

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now (see times and links below*) You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.

Please send enquiries to Michael [dot] Naranjo [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 25 November 2016.

Time

The webinar will be held *twice on 29 November 2016. Register for either time below.

  • 10:00am London
  • 12:00 noon Johannesburg 
  • 01:00pm Kampala/Mwanza
  • 3:30pm New Delhi/Bangalore

Register now 

  • 05:00pm London
  • 12 noon New York/ Washington, DC
  • 09:00am Los Angeles/ San Francisco

Register now