Webinar: Co-financing - an innovative funding solution for cross-sectoral interventions

09 April 2019
Becky Wolfe

 

Join us for a free webinar on Wednesday 24 April, 1pm BST

Background

Interventions that address the social determinants of health can yield multiple benefits beyond the health sector, such as on education or the economy. However, standard methods for economic evaluation focus on assessing the impact of interventions on a single sector and, in doing so, underestimate their overall value. As a result, high-value, cross-cutting initiatives are often under-valued, under-financed and under-implemented.

In this webinar, Teresa Guthrie present lessons learned from piloting an innovative cross-sectoral co-financing approach that aimed to respond to this challenge. Developed by STRIVE and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), this approach offers a new way for public entities to budget for interventions that deliver benefits across sectors, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and SDG targets simultaneously. Specifically, co-financing calls for costs of high-value interventions to be split among ‘benefitting sectors’, with specific contributions guided by each sector’s willingness to pay for expected results.

About the presenter

Teresa Guthrie is a South African health economist with over sixteen years’ experience within African public health finance systems, specifically: costing, budgeting and financing of health interventions (HIV, PHC, TB, hepatitis, immunisation, nutrition) and working with African public health finance systems, PEPFAR and Global Fund funding systems, as well as UN agencies: UNAIDS, WHO, UNDP, including value-for-money analysis. 

Time

08:00 Washington DC

13:00 London

14:00 Johannesburg

15:00 Dar es Salaam

17:30 New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

  1. Register online You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.
  2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 
  3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260. 

Related resources