Impacts of cash and care provision on prevention and adherence

Structural solutions? Impact of cash and care on adolescent HIV prevention and adherence - Learning Lab, 11 March 2015

19 February 2015
Michelle Moore

Join us for a free webinar on Wednesday 11 March 2015, 1pm GMT

Dr Lucie Cluver: Structural solutions? Impacts of cash and care provision on adolescent HIV prevention and adherence in Southern Africa

There is now strong evidence of the importance of structural drivers of the HIV-epidemic. As a result, increasing interest has focused on social protection as a possible solution to prevention. But questions and debates continue:

  • Should cash transfers be unconditional or conditioned?
  • Are cash transfers enough or do we need 'cash plus care'?
  • How do biomedical interventions work with social protection?
  • How are we going to pay for social protection?
  • Can social protection address new challenges such as ART and PMTCT adherence?

The webinar presents some of the latest evidence in this area and proposes ways to approach these questions.

Dr Lucie Cluver is an Associate Professor at Oxford University and the University of Cape Town. She works closely with UNICEF, WHO, PEPFAR-USAID and the South African government to develop rigorous research in social protection and children affected by AIDS. She is lucky - she says - to have exceptional collaborators and a dynamic team of doctoral and postdoctoral students who are all slightly cleverer than she is.

Resources

Time

Depending on your location, the time of the Learning Lab will be:

9.00 am Washington DC

1.00 pm London

2.00 pm Geneva

3.00 pm Johannesburg

4.00 pm Kampala/Mwanza

6.30 pm New Delhi/Bangalore

Instructions

To join the webinar on Wednesday 11 March 2015, follow these THREE STEPS.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, please send your contact number + country code to Michelle [dot] Moore [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 6 March 2015 so we can dial you in. 

Remember, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.