Structural factors and the HIV prevention and treatment cascades: where are we?

08 February 2018
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on 1 March 2018, 1pm GMT.

There remains an unmet need for HIV prevention, particularly among key populations including adolescent girls and young women in Africa. The treatment cascade framework, and its associated 90:90:90 targets, has galvanised action to expand testing and treatment for prevention. The prevention cascade framework hopes to do the same for primary prevention, mapping the steps needed to achieve high coverage of efficacious prevention tools. Both frameworks illustrate how ART-based HIV prevention offers real promise for reducing HIV incidence at a population level. However, challenges remain.

Overcoming structural barriers along the treatment and prevention cascades will be essential to achieving impact on HIV incidence and other health outcomes at a population level."

This Learning Lab explores how social and structural factors have the potential to undermine the promise of these frameworks by acting at each step along the cascades. However - as the presenters will explain - evidence shows that these same structural factors can be amenable to intervention within programmatic timeframes.

Sinead Delany-Moretlwe is Associate Professor and Director of Research at Wits RHI. A South African-born medical doctor, her experience is primarily in sexual and reproductive health and HIV prevention research. Currently she is a principal investigator on a large phase III trial of injectable cabotegravir as PrEP, and three demonstration projects of PrEP for adolescent girls and young women, with a particular focus on evaluating interventions that may address the social and structural barriers to PrEP use in young women.

James Hargreaves is the Director of the Centre for Evaluation at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine where he is also a Professor in Epidemiology and Evaluation with a focus in social epidemiology and public health evaluation. His primary interests include the socioeconomic epidemiology of HIV/AIDS and tuberculosis and in developing interventions to address these public health issues.

Time

08:00am Washington

1:00pm London

03:00pm Johannesburg

04:00pm Nairobi

06:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260. 

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Monday 26 February 2018.  

Resources 

The HIV prevention cascade: integrating theories of epidemiological, behavioural, and social science into programme design and monitoring 

Interventions to strengthen the HIV prevention cascade: a systematic review of reviews