STRIVE for the SDGs

06 March 2018
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on 22 March 2018, 11.30 am GMT.

How can STRIVE’s conceptual approach to understanding and intervening on structural drivers of HIV be used to formulate strategies for achieving the SDGs? 

This Learning Lab:

  • explores the “indivisible” qualities of the SDGs
  • examines how sectors must work together “upstream” in order to achieve SDG targets
  • draws on examples of structural interventions from inside and outside of STRIVE’s body of work
  • introduces an innovative financing model that has the potential to catalyze progress on the SDGs

Katherine Fritz is Director of Research at the International Center for Research on Women and is based in Washington DC. She had been part of the STRIVE consortium since its inception in 2012. Her areas of expertise are gender inequality and alcohol use as drivers of HIV risk in sub-Saharan Africa. She holds a PhD in cultural anthropology and a Masters degree in Public Health.

Lori Heise has over 25 years of experience working in the areas of gender equity, social change and women’s health. She was a Professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine where she served as Co-Director of STRIVE until 2017. Lori has since joined the Faculty of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, with a joint appointment in the School of Nursing, where she conducts research on violence, social norms and health and serves as Technical Director of the Prevention Collaborative, a new global initiative designed to support evidence based GBV prevention programming in the Global South.

Time

07:30am Washington

11:30am London

01:30pm Johannesburg

02:30pm Nairobi

05:00pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260. 

Please send enquiries to Michael [dot] Naranjo [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Wednesday 21 March 2018.  

Resources 

Integration of Global Health and Other Development Sectors: A Review of the Evidence

UNAIDS 90–90–90 targets to end the AIDS epidemic by 2020 are not realistic: comment on “Can the UNAIDS 90–90– 90 target be achieved? A systematic analysis of national HIV treatment cascades”

Map the interactions between Sustainable Development Goals