STRIVE Learning Lab: Addressing the structural drivers of HIV

08 May 2019
Becky Wolfe

 

Join us to celebrate STRIVE's final webinar on Thursday 23 May at 12pm BST

Register: https://cc.readytalk.com/r/g36efzwt14nm&eom

For the past eight years, STRIVE research consortium has been working to address the structural drivers of HIV – including stigma, poverty, gender inequality, violence against women and alcohol availability. These drivers shape patterns of HIV vulnerability and limit the impact of HIV programmes.

The consortium has implemented and evaluated interventions that sought to tackle structural drivers that prevent vulnerable groups from accessing HIV services and reducing their HIV risk. These groups include vulnerable adolescents and young people in east and southern Africa, rural sex workers in southern India, and women experiencing violence. 

In this final Learning Lab, STRIVE Research Director Professor Janet Seeley will draw together the very considerable body of work done by the members of the STRIVE research consortium over the past 8 years and present highlights from the consortium’s research and syntheses. She will:

  • Describe the ways in which structural drivers increase vulnerability to HIV and its spread
  • Set out evidence of STRIVE interventions that work to address the structural factors of HIV
  • Show how a co-financing approach can support structural interventions that yield multiple benefits across sectors
  • Provide examples of STRIVE’s contribution to the increased priority and prominence of structural factors in efforts to address the HIV epidemic

About the presenter

Professor Janet Seeley has worked at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine for the past five years and has been a research director for STRIVE since 2016. She has been actively engaged in research on HIV since the late 1980s.

Time

  • 07:00 Washington DC
  • 12:00 London
  • 13:00 Johannesburg
  • 14:00 Dar es Salaam
  • 16:30 New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

Register online You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

  1. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 
  2. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.