Situating transactional sex: Comparisons, history and theory - Learning Lab 23 April 2014

08 April 2014
Sephy Valuks

Please join us for a free webinar on Wednesday 23 April 2014, 2pm BST. Sanyu Mojola will explore the key dimensions of transactional sex.

Transactional sex is increasingly being recognized as a key social dynamic underlying young African women’s high HIV rates. This presentation explores the comparative, historical and theoretical dimensions of transactional sex, to add complexity and depth to current understandings of the practice.

Sanyu A Mojola (PhD University of Chicago, 2008) is Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Colorado, Boulder. Her research examines social structural processes underlying health disparities in a variety of settings including Kenya, South Africa, and Washington DC. Her current work uses mixed methods to examine gender disparities in HIV rates among African youth, the HIV epidemic among older adults in rural South Africa, and the HIV epidemic among African Americans in Washington DC.

Sanyu Mojola’s book: Love, Money and HIV: Becoming a Modern African Woman in the Age of AIDS will be released in May 2014.

Resources

Disagregating 'transactional sex' from 'sex work' - Holly Prudden

Adolescents and transactional sex - Joyce Wamoyi

Transactional sex and HIV incidence in a cohort of young women in the Stepping Stones trial

Sanyu Mojola: Google scholar citations

Fishing in dangerous waters: Ecology, gender and economy in HIV risk 

Providing women, kept men: Doing masculinity in the wake of the African HIV/AIDS Pandemic (Not open access)

Time

Depending on your location, the time of the Learning Lab will be:
9:00 am Washington
2:00 pm London
3:00 pm Johannesburg/Geneva
4:00 pm Mwanza/Kampala
6:30 pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar on Wednesday 23 April 2014, follow these THREE STEPS.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code, internet link and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online. Log in shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone. Dial in shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, please send your contact number with country code to Annie [dot] Holmes [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Thursday 17 April, and we will dial out to you just before the beginning of the Lab.

Remember, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.