Sex, risk, and preferences: Using discrete choice experiments to estimate the impact and cost-effectiveness of multipurpose HIV prevention products in South Africa

25 October 2017
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on Thursday 30 November 2017, 2pm GMT.

A promising area in HIV prevention is the development of multipurpose prevention technologies (MPTs), products which offer users protection from HIV, other STIs, or unintended pregnancy. This Learning Lab presents work carried out in collaboration between Wits RHI and the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine among men, women, and adolescent girls in Ekurhuleni Municipality, South Africa, which elicited preferences for candidate MPTs through a discrete choice experiment (DCE).  The presentation covers:

  • Which products will be preferred by whom?
  • How cost-effective might single and multipurpose products be?
  • How might new products affect condom use among different groups?
  • How could products affect the economics of sex work?

Matthew Quaife is a Research Fellow in Health Economics at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine and a visiting researcher at Wits RHI. Matthew works with demand side and behavioural economic tools to understand how choices and economic constraints affect health outcomes.

Time

09:00am Washington

02:00pm London

04:00pm Johannesburg

05:00pm Nairobi

07:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Monday 27 November 2017.

Resources

Preferences for ARV-based HIV prevention methods among men and women, adolescent girls and female sex workers in Gauteng Province, South Africa: a protocol for a discrete choice experiment

Divergent Preferences for HIV Prevention: A Discrete Choice Experiment for Multipurpose HIV Prevention Products in South Africa