Gender norms and poverty versus educational aspirations and individual resilience: What is the contribution of Samata?

25 May 2018
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on Tuesday 19 June, 11am BST.

This Learning Lab presents the qualitative study findings from the Samata cluster randomised-control trial in rural south India. Samata’s aim was to reduce secondary school drop-out and child marriage among marginalised adolescent girls. The study followed 36 girls prospectively throughout the intervention period to provide contextual understanding of the trial results and demonstrate how the intervention interacted with the girls and their families. The webinar draws on girls’ narratives and perspectives on processes of change. In particular, the presenters discuss:

  • What intervention and non-intervention factors facilitated/impeded retention in school and delay of marriage?
  • How did the various intervention activities enable adolescent girls to develop aspirations and act on their aspirations?
  • How did girls negotiate change both at home and in the community?
  • What insights did we gain that go beyond the stated primary and secondary outcomes in the trial?

Satyanarayana Ramanaik is an Assistant Director-Research at Karnataka Health Promotion Trust (KHPT) and has more than 15 years’ experience in research and program implementation. He is primarily a qualitative researcher and in his present role at KHPT, he is leading the qualitative studies under the Research Program Consortium (STRIVE) lead by the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) funded through UKAID. He also provides technical support related to qualitative evaluation to the other projects at KHPT. 

Martine Collumbien is an Associate Professor in Sexual Health Research at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine. She works with STRIVE partners in India analysing the processes of change in the qualitative research nested within Samata and Samvedana Plus trials (KHPT) and Parivartan for Girls (ICRW).

Related resources

Time

06:00am Washington

11:00am London

12:00noon Johannesburg

01:00pm Nairobi

03:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260. 

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 15 June 2018.