Multidimensional Poverty Analysis

13 November 2014
Anna McCormick

Join us for a free webinar on Wednesday 19 November 2014, 2.30pm GMT

The webinar will present the overall results and some highlights of related studies on the Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI). The MPI has been computed for 33 new datasets in 2014 using the same methodology as previously, and is now available for 108 countries using data from 2002-2013, with 57 countries having data for 2009-2013. The recent studies have also tracked changes in multidimensional poverty over time for 34 countries using DHS data, greatly extending last year’s work. Two measures related to distribution have been developed: one reflecting inequality among the poor, and the other, regional disparity in MPI across subnational regions. A new measure identifies the destitute as subset of the MPI poor who have deeper deprivations in at least a subset of MPI indicators.

Sabina Alkire directs the Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative (OPHI), a research centre within the Department of International Development, University of Oxford. Her research interests include multidimensional poverty measurement and analysis, welfare economics, the capability approach, the measurement of freedoms and human development. Publications include ‘Valuing Freedoms: Sen’s Capability Approach and Poverty Reduction’, as well as articles in Philosophy and Economics. She holds a DPhil in Economics from the University of Oxford.

Resources

Global Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI) 2014 

Constructing a multidimensional poverty measure 

Measuring Acute Poverty in the Developing World: Robustness and Scope of the Multidimensional Poverty Index: available as an OPHI working paper or in World Development 

Time

Depending on your location the time of the Learning Lab will be:

9.30 am Washington

2.30 pm London

3.30 pm Geneva

4.30 pm Johannesburg

5.30 pm Kampala/Mwanza

8.00 pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar on Wednesday 19 November 2014, follow these THREE STEPS.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, please send your contact number + country code to Michael [dot] Naranjo [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 14 November so we can dial you in. 

Remember, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.