How does partner violence affect HIV treatment during pregnancy?

15 May 2018
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on Tuesday 29 May, 1pm BST.

While intimate partner violence has long been understood as a factor driving HIV risk, only recently has research and policy begun to recognise its influence in the lives of women already living with HIV. Partner violence may be particularly challenging during pregnancy, and skipping HIV medicine at this time can be especially risky for the health of the woman and her infant. This Learning Lab highlights recent work in measuring and addressing partner violence within the cascade of prevention of mother-to-child HIV transmission (PMTCT).

Abigail M Hatcher is an Honorary Associate Professor at the School of Public Health of University of the Witwatersrand. Dr. Hatcher designs and tests interventions for addressing HIV care and treatment alongside intimate partner violence (IPV). Her mixed-methods research focuses on pregnant women, young men and couples in Johannesburg, South Africa and Kisumu, Kenya.

Time

08:00am Washington

01:00pm London

02:00pm Johannesburg

03:00pm Nairobi

05:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260. 

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 25 May 2018.