Findings from Samvedana Plus: A multi-level intervention to increase condom use and reduce violence among sex workers in Karnataka

14 December 2018
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on Thursday 31 January, 10am GMT.

Little attention has been given to the issue of intimate partner violence (IPV) in the lives of sex workers. Samvedana Plus is a multi-level intervention working with female sex workers, their intimate partners (IP) and communities to reduce IPV and increase condom use within intimate relationships of sex workers.

For the study, 47 villages (clusters) were selected in Northern Karnataka, India. All female sex workers with an intimate partner were eligible for baseline (2014), midline (2016) and endline (2017) surveys. A total of 24 villages were randomised to Samvedana Plus and 23 to a wait-list control, 620 sex workers were interviewed at baseline and 547 at endline. Outcomes included:

  • any physical/sexual IPV
  • severe physical/sexual IPV
  • consistent condom use with their IP

In this Learning Lab, Lucy Platt (Associate Professor in Public Health Epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine) and Prakash Javalkar (Senior Manager of Monitoring and Evaluation at Karnataka Health Promotion Trust) will present key findings from the trial and share an interpretation of the results.

Related resources

Time

05:00 Washington

10:00 London

12:00 noon Johannesburg

13:00 Nairobi

15:30 New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.