Developing a structural intervention to delay underage alcohol use and reduce HIV risk among vulnerable youth in Kampala, Uganda - Learning Lab 16 September 2014

12 September 2014
Annie Holmes

Please join us for a free webinar on Tuesday 16 September 2014, 1.00PM BST.

Youth living in poverty in Kampala slums are exposed to intense alcohol marketing and have high levels of HIV (10%), a situation that warrants urgent structural intervention. This NIH-funded community-based project – a collaboration between Georgia State University's School of Public Health and the Uganda Youth Development Link NGO in Kampala – aims to develop and evaluate an empirically informed structural intervention to target underage drinking (<18 years of age) and to reduce risk of alcohol-related risky sex among vulnerable youth. The Learning Lab presents the conceptual approach, some preliminary data and current challenges.

A Professor of Epidemiology in the School of Public Health at Georgia State University, Atlanta, Dr Monica Swahn researches adolescent health risk behaviours and outcomes such as alcohol, violence and HIV in the US and internationally. She serves as a consultant to WHO Africa Regional Office (AFRO) on alcohol use and marketing in sub-Saharan Africa and to the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) in South America on gender-based violence. Previously, Dr Swahn worked for the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta.

Resources

Alcohol Exposures, Alcohol Marketing, and Their Associations with Problem Drinking and Drunkenness among Youth Living in the Slums of Kampala, Uganda

HIV risk and the alcohol environment

WHO global status report on alcohol and health 2014

Time

Depending on your location the time of the Learning Lab will be:

8:00 am Washington
1:00 pm London
2:00 pm Johannesburg/Geneva
3:00 pm Mwanza/Kampala
5:30 pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar on Tuesday 16 September 2014, follow THREE STEPS.

1. Register online now. You will receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, to see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, to hear the presenter. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, send your contact number with country code to Michael [dot] Naranjo [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Friday 12 September 2014, and we will dial out to you just before the start.

Remember, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.