Creating space for girls to aspire, negotiate and grow

22 September 2017
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on 26 October 2017, 11am BST about Parivartan Plus, a sports based programme in Mumbai.

Once reaching puberty there is little, if any, opportunity for girls in India to play sport as their access to public spaces is severely restricted and gender norms render them invisible. This Learning Lab shares key findings from the STRIVE study Parivartan Plus, conducted by the International Centre for Research on Women (ICRW-ARO). The programme uses the sport of kabaddi to empower young women and adolescent girls in Mumbai’s Shivajinagar slum community. Fifteen participating girls were interviewed three times over the period of two years – their voices tell the story of being recruited into the innovative programme, learning negotiation skills and working as a team. In particular the presenters discuss:

  • What strategies were used to claim space at home and in the community?
  • What support mechanisms were created?
  • What inevitable challenges did they face?
  • Are changes sustained beyond the programme?
  • Have competencies transferred into supporting education and delaying marriage?

Shweta Bankar is a Technical Specialist at the International Centre for Research on Women (ICRW), with a keen interest in programmes empowering adolescent girls. She currently works on Parivartan and other gender transformative projects engaging various stakeholders across Government, corporates, CBOs and communities in Maharashtra, India.

Martine Collumbien is an Associate Professor in Sexual Health Research at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine. She works with STRIVE partners in India analysing the processes of change in Parivartan for Girls (ICRW) and the qualitative research nested within Samata and Samvedana Plus trials (KHPT).

Time

06:00am Washington

11:00am London

12:00 noon Johannesburg

1:00pm Nairobi

3:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Monday 23 October 2017.