Co-financing feasibility, barriers and enablers: the case of Tanzania

12 December 2017
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on 14 December 2017, 12 noon GMT.

‘Co-financing’ refers to the pooling of HIV financing with other disease-specific programmes and other development sectors to implement upstream interventions with multiple benefits. It may offer an important way to optimise HIV financing and efficiency, without crowding out other programmes that may have spill-over HIV benefits. However, coordinating and budgeting between and across sectors can be institutionally challenging. This Learning Lab presents findings from a study of the institutional feasibility, barriers, and enablers of adopting a co-financing framework in HIV resource allocation, based on the perceptions and insights of policy makers in Tanzania. 

Michelle Remme is an assistant professor in health economics at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. She has worked for twelve years on the economics of HIV and health financing within the United Nations system, the Dutch Government, and consultancy and research institutions at the international and country level. Her main research focus is on HIV financing and, more specifically, resource allocation decisions for interventions with multiple cross-sectoral outcomes.

Time

07:00am Washington

12:00noon London

02:00pm Johannesburg

03:00pm Nairobi

05:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Monday 11 December 2017.

Resources

Financing structural interventions: going beyond HIV-only value for money assessments

Cost-Effectiveness Thresholds in Global Health: Taking a Multisectoral Perspective