Can violent couples change?

26 June 2017
Sephy Valuks

Join us for a free webinar on 13 July 2017, 4:00 pm BST.

There is now a growing body of research indicating that prevention interventions can reduce intimate partner violence (IPV); much less is known, however, about how couples exposed to these interventions experience the change process. Understanding the dynamic process that brings about the cessation of violence in relationships is essential for understanding how interventions work (or don’t) to reduce IPV.

This webinar discusses how couples’ involvement with SASA!—a violence against women and HIV-related community mobilisation intervention developed by Raising Voices and implemented by CEDOVIP in Uganda—influenced processes of change in relationships. The study draws attention to the value of working with, researching and collecting data from women, men and couples to prevent IPV and suggests IPV prevention interventions may benefit from the inclusion of relationship skills building and support within the context of community mobilisation interventions.

Dr. Elizabeth Starmann is a social scientist with a diverse background in gender violence and HIV research, programme design and management, policy and capacity development. She worked on the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine’s multidisciplinary SASA! Study in Kampala, Uganda with Raising Voices. Prior to this she worked for Partners for Prevention (a UN Joint Programme in Asia-Pacific), UNDP’s HIV programme in Rwanda and Women’s Equity in Access to Care and Treatment (WE-ACTx) in Rwanda. Her current research examines couple-level data collection and analysis to inform intimate partner violence prevention.

Resources

Exploring Couples’ Processes of Change in the Context of SASA!, a Violence Against Women and HIV Prevention Intervention in Uganda

Stronger together: Engaging both women and men in SASA! to prevent violence against women

SASA! Activist Kit: Preventing violence against women

Time

 8:00am San Francisco

11:00am Washington

4:00pm London

5:00pm Johannesburg

6:00pm Nairobi

8:30pm New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides.

1. Register online now. You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.

2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774.

3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774.

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260.

Please send enquiries to Sephy [dot] Valuks [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Tuesday 11 July 2017.