Age-disparate sex and HIV risk in Tanzania and Uganda

15 March 2019
Becky Wolfe

Join us for a free webinar on Wednesday 27th March, 11am GMT

Background

Age-disparate sex – when adolescent girls or young women (AGYW) have sex with men ten years or older than they are – is associated with increased risk of HIV for these young women. However, little is known about the dynamics of such relationships from the perspectives of those who engage in it or about the communities in which these relationships are embedded. 

In Tanzania and Uganda, STRIVE researchers have explored the motivations of age-disparate sexual relationships for both AGYW and older men, as well as the social and sexual and reproductive health consequences of these relationships, including risk of HIV. The qualitative research involved participatory focus group discussions and in-depth interviews with young people (age 14-24) and adults (age 25-49) in rural and urban areas.

In this Learning Lab, Joyce Wamoyi (National Institute for Medical Research in Mwanza, Tanzania) and Nambusi Kygombe (LSHTM) present the findings from the study, and highlight the implications for girls’ sexual and reproductive health interventions. 

About the presenters

Dr Joyce Wamoyi is a social and behavioural researcher with expertise in sexual and reproductive health including: adolescents and young people’s sexual and reproductive health behaviour; sexually transmitted infections & HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment uptake; gender and sexuality. She is currently a co-leader of the STRIVE transactional sex working group

Dr Nambusi Kyegombe is an interdisciplinary social scientist working in global health and development. Nambusi’s research focuses on adolescent girls and young women and their vulnerability to violence and HIV and the potential of social norms approaches to reduce adolescent vulnerability to transactional sex and sexual exploitation. She is a member of the Gender Violence and Health Centre at LSHTM and has been involved in the STRIVE SASA! Project in Uganda.

Time

06:00 Washington DC

11:00 London

13:00 Johannesburg

14:00 Dar es Salaam

16:30 New Delhi

Instructions

To join the webinar, you must call in AND join online to hear audio and view the slides. 

  1. Register online You will then receive an email giving you the access code and toll-free numbers to dial.
  2. Log in to Ready Talk as a participant online, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can see the slides. Use access code 9272774. 
  3. Dial in to Ready Talk on your telephone, shortly before the presentation begins, so you can hear the presenter speaking. Use access code 9272774. 

If your country does not have a toll-free number, you can dial in for free through Skype using the US number 866-740-1260. 

Please send enquiries to Rebecca [dot] Wolfe [at] LSHTM [dot] ac [dot] uk by Tuesday 12th March 2019.

Related resources